Friday, August 29, 2014
Text Size
Displaying items by tag: PhD thesis in maritime economics
Sunday, 30 September 2012 09:34

5th MEL PhD Competition (2011-2013)

In pursuit of its commitment to promote quality research and strengthen research links, particularly among young researchers, the academic journal Maritime Economics & Logistics organises its fifth Competition for the best PhD Theses that have been successfully defended during the period 1st July 2011 to 28th February 2013.

Submissions will be peer-reviewed by an international Jury composed of 11 members, including the three PortEconomics co-directors, and a member of the PortEconomics team:

  • Professor Hercules Haralambides, Erasmus University Rotterdam, NL
  • Professor Alfred Baird, Napier University, Orkney Isles, Scotland
  • Professor Mary R. Brooks, Dalhousie University, Canada
  • Professor Kevin Cullinane, Napier University, Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Professor Peter de Langen, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL
  • Dr. Jan Hoffmann, UNCTAD, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Professor Theo Notteboom, ITMMA, Antwerp
  • Professor Thanos Pallis, University of the Aegean, Greece
  • Professor Photis Panayides, Cyprus University of Technology, Cyprus
  • Professor Ross Robinson, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Professor Anna Sciomachen, University of Genova, Italy

The "Palgrave Macmillan" Prize for the best PhD thesis, accompanied by a prize of € 1,000, will be awarded at a ceremony that will take place in July 2013 during the annual conference of the International Association of Maritime Economists (IAME), in Marseille ( The five short-listed authors are expected to either join the IAME annual conference to present their work in a special session or arrange for suitable representatives to present on their behalf.

Authors should submit an electronic copy of their thesis plus an approximately 6,000-word paper of publishable quality, encapsulating the essence of the thesis (particularly the methodological part). Literature review should be limited to the absolute minimum, i.e. to works that bear directly upon the development of the thesis. MEL's Instructions to Authors can be found on the journal's website.

Thesis and paper can be emailed to Dr. Francesco Parola, Parthenope University, Naples, Italy ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) and Prof. Claudio Ferrari, University of Genova, Italy ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) no later than the 15th of March 2013.

Submissions should be accompanied by a letter from the competent university authorities confirming that the PhD thesis was defended after 1st July 2011.

Published in NoticeBoard